Olympics: which countries make up Great Britain and how is it different from Great Britain?

Although England, Scotland and Wales came from competition as independent teams at the recent European Championships, their athletes are present in the Tokyo Olympics they will do it below Great Britain National Olympic Committee and ‘dress’ by United Kingdom Flag.

britain was one of the 14 teams that competed in the first Olympics of the modern era, Athens 1986, and since then it has been present in all editions of Summer and Winter Games, the only one next to France and Switzerland. Moreover, they had the honor of being the only country to have won at least one gold medal at every summer Olympics and occupy third place in the overall medal table, second only to the United States and the former Soviet Union.

What athletes can compete for Great Britain?

As mentioned above, despite competing with the name britain and use the term ‘GB team‘To refer to the team, the British Olympic Association (BOA) clarifies that the team’s full title is Olympic Team Great Britain and Northern Ireland. That said, who can compete on this team?:

  • Constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales and athletes from Northern Ireland who want itbecause it can also compete under the Irish flag
  • Three Crown dependencies: Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey
  • All The British Overseas Territory does not include the British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands and Bermuda, which has its own Olympic committee

What is the difference between Great Britain and Great Britain?

When britain is a geographical term that refers to an island consisting of England, Scotland and Wales, great Britain is a political concept, a countries consisting of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, the only one of these four countries that does not belong to the island of Great Britain.

In fact, the British flag, known as Union Jack or Union Flag, taking reference from all of his countries except Wales, which was still part of the United Kingdom when the flag was designed, in 1801:

  • Saint George’s Red Cross, english pattern
  • St. Cross Patrick, Irish pattern
  • St Andrew’s Cross, protector of scotland

Matt Thompson

"Problem solver. Proud twitter specialist. Travel aficionado. Introvert. Coffee trailblazer. Professional zombie ninja. Extreme gamer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.