The European Union will require a travel permit for entry to citizens of countries currently exempt from visas – Destinations

Nationals of 60 countries, including Paraguay, will have to process permits to enter the 26 member states of the Schengen Area from the end of 2022, as part of actions taken by the European Union through the European Information System and Authorization for Travel (ETIAS). . This will not change the free transit, but will be a mandatory requirement for entry into Europe.

December 29, 2021

The procedure, completely online, consists of filling out a form with personal information and travel details for those wishing to enter Europe for a period of less than three months. Applications go through a pre-screening and background check process before providing electronic authorization to travel. The permit will be valid for three consecutive years or until the validity of the passport associated with the permit.

For the process, you must have a valid biometric passport. You must also have an email address and a credit or debit card to pay a one-time permit issuance fee. One of its main goals is that ETIAS permits contribute to the security of European borders. This European travel permit will facilitate the identification of possible threats and risks associated with people wishing to travel to any of the countries in the Schengen Zone. The European Travel Authorization and Information System is also known in Spanish as SEIAV. ETIAS and ETIAS are exactly the same.

Until the end of 2022, travelers with Paraguayan passports will be able to continue their journey to Europe without the need processing Schengen visa for stays of up to 90 days. Just present your valid passport upon landing in Europe, thanks to the existing visa-free agreements. However, by the end of 2022 they must register and obtain ETIAS certification before embarking on the journey.

To read the week’s top travel news, subscribe to us Friday’s newsletter.

The complete list of countries whose citizens must present an ETIAS certificate is as follows: Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Dominica , El Salvador, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United Kingdom, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

The following countries allow citizens with Paraguayan passports to enter and circulate freely: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta , Netherlands , Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic and Sweden, They also need an ETIAS permit., Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland although they are not Member States of the European Union. Countries that are not part of the Schengen area and don’t need ETIAS are Ireland, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia and Cyprus.

Matt Thompson

"Problem solver. Proud twitter specialist. Travel aficionado. Introvert. Coffee trailblazer. Professional zombie ninja. Extreme gamer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.