Who are Ukraine’s allies, which countries support Russia and which are neutral?

Russia has attacked Ukraine with several explosions across the country and President Vladimir Putin has announced a large-scale “military operation”. The Ukrainian government has confirmed the first 8 people killed and the situation is on its way to being able to go further.

The international reaction was not long in coming. Putin has warned of catastrophic consequences, the European Union has announced more severe measures and the entire international community is positioned to deal with conflict.

The EU, UK and US have been on Ukraine’s side since the beginning of the conflict, but how have the other countries in the conflict positioned themselves?

Countries that support Russia

Belarusallies of Russia.

Serbia, has supported Russia since it was part of Yugoslavia. They sent soldiers into the conflict on the Crimean peninsula.

Tajikistanhistorical ally.

kazakstan, historical ally.

armenian, member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, a military alliance led by Moscow and established for nearly 30 years, similar to NATO.

Countries that support Ukraine

Most NATO and European Union countries: United States, Canada, Greenland, Iceland, United Kingdom, France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Norway, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Denmark , Greece, Bulgaria, Albania, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Montenegro.

For their part, Austria, Finland, Ireland and Austria are not members of NATO, but they are members of the EU. Also Switzerland, a historically neutral country, has joined the sanctions against Russia.

Unspecified country

HungaryYou are in a difficult situation. Its president, Viktor Orbán, who is close to Putin’s position, has joined the condemnation and sanctions imposed by the European Union on Russia. However, Orbán has assured that the weapons promised by the West to Ukraine will not be sent across Hungary’s borders.

Turkey it has implemented the rules of the Montreux Convention to prohibit the passage of military ships through the Bosphorus and Dardanelles straits. Through these passages there is access from the Mediterranean Sea and the Aegean Sea to the Black Sea. This ban could affect Russia to a greater extent, due to its naval power.

China, Despite the fact that he is usually an ally of Russia in many ways, on this occasion he seems completely uninterested in engaging in armed conflict. Ukraine has asked the Asian country to mediate with Putin. China’s head of diplomacy, Wang Yi, lamented in a statement that “the situation in Ukraine has changed rapidly and dramatically” and pointed out that “China is very disappointed to see the conflict between Ukraine and Russia and is deeply concerned about the damage done to civilians.”

Spanish Role

Spain has been a member of NATO since 1982. A few weeks ago, they sent the frigate Blas de Lezo to the Black Sea. He would join the minesweeper Meteoro, which had departed a few days ago for the same area. The Rota base, in Cádiz, is a strategic point for the United States for its missions in the Mediterranean and in Europe.

Since 1953, Spain has allowed its allies to use this land at will, despite the fact that ownership of the land remains with Spain. It has a military port and airport for shared use.

President Sánchez announced Wednesday the bilateral delivery of “military offensive material” to Ukrainein addition to deliveries made within the framework of the European Union through the Support for Peace Fund.

Sophie Wilkinson

"Subtly charming web junkie. Unapologetic bacon lover. Introvert. Typical foodaholic. Twitter specialist. Professional travel fanatic."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.