What are the member countries of NATO?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an international political-military organization, whose purpose is to ensure the security of its member states or states. Currently, NATO consists of 30 member countries and 20 partner countries.. Spain has been a part of NATO since 1982. Currently, various NATO military forces and resources are on alert due to tensions between Ukraine and Russia. The Ukrainian government’s request to join NATO could be one of the causes of such international tensions.

How was NATO formed?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, NATO, is known by a different name. In English it is “North Atlantic Treaty Organization” (NATO) and it is also known as the North Atlantic Alliance or the Atlantic Alliance.

This organization founded by the twelve countries that signed the Washington Treaty on April 4, 1949. Then, countries are added until it reaches 30 member states.

La Otan It also has partner countries, which collaborate on various security and defense activities. It is a Mediterranean state, the Euro-Atlantic region, the Persian Gulf and a global partner, in other regions of the world.

The main body of NATO is the North Atlantic Council., consisting of ambassadors representing allied countries. The structure also includes a Military Committee, which consists of the Heads of Defense of the member countries, the International Secretariat and the International Military Secretariat.

NATO headquarters is located in Brussels, Belgium.since 1966, while the main military command, called the Supreme Headquarters of the Allied Powers Europe, or SHAPE, for its acronym) is located in Mons, also in Belgium.

NATO member countries

The NATO member states are:

United States, Canada, Germany, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Italy, Belgium, Albania, Denmark, France, Estonia, Croatia, Greece, Iceland, Norway, Netherlands, Bulgaria, Romania, Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Turkey, Lithuania , Luxembourg, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

The founding member countries, in 1949, joined the following countries, until 2020.


United States, Canada, Denmark, Belgium, France, Italy, United Kingdom, Portugal, Netherlands, Iceland, Norway and Luxembourg.


Greece and Turkey






Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic


Romania, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia and Slovakia


Croatia and Albania




North Macedonia

NATO today

The current NATO partner countries are:

Switzerland, Finland, Austria, Sweden, Georgia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Ireland, Armenia, Russia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Malta, Macedonia of the Former Yugoslavia, Serbia, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyz Republic, Kazakhstan, Republic of Moldova, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

Share this information about NATO member countries on your social networks. Leave your comments below.

Matt Thompson

"Problem solver. Proud twitter specialist. Travel aficionado. Introvert. Coffee trailblazer. Professional zombie ninja. Extreme gamer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.