Russia imposes sanctions on 39 British politicians and journalists

© Sputnik / Vladimir Trefilov

Moscow, August 1 (Sputnik).- Russia imposed sanctions on 39 British politicians, businessmen and journalists, the Foreign Ministry reported on Monday.

“As the UK Government continues to implement sanctions mechanisms against members of the Russian public and politician circles, domestic economic operators and the media, it was decided to include a number of British politicians, businessmen and journalists who contribute to London’s hostile policies seeking to demonize. our country and isolate it internationally,” the statement said.

The list published on the Foreign Office website includes former Prime Minister David Cameron, UK Foreign Office spokeswoman Helen Bower-Easton, a number of officials and several journalists, including the head of the BBC’s news service, Jonathan Munro.

– Inline Ads Articles Ads –

The Russian diplomatic entity assured that, “given London’s destructive desire” to expand sanctions “under far-fetched and absurd pretexts”, Moscow would continue to work on expanding its own list.

On February 24, Russia began a special military operation on Ukrainian territory, something many countries condemned and therefore activated several batteries of individual and sectoral sanctions that seek to inflict the greatest possible damage on the Russian economy, in an attempt to pressure Ukraine. to end hostilities.

Hundreds of companies announced since late February the decision to suspend their business in and with Russia.

According to the database, after the start of the military operation, nearly 8,900 economic restrictions were imposed on Russia, now the most sanctioned country, ahead of Iran, Syria and North Korea.

With information from Sputnik Agency / CONFIRMED.NET

– Ad Bottom Advert –

Elena Eland

"Web specialist. Incurable twitteraholic. Explorer. Organizer. Internet nerd. Avid student."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.